Roman Ring Buckle (Ringschnallencingulum) Apulum, Bronze

Ring buckle with 2 fungiform studs after a find from Apulum. As a typical belt of the 3rd century, the strap is simply passed through the ring, folded over and fastened with the help of the buttons.

SKU
753001
Lieferzeit
1 week
€59.50
All prices include VAT, plus shipping costs

Roman Ring Buckle (Ringschnallencingulum) Apulum

Ring buckle with 2 fungiform studs after a find from Apulum. As a typical belt of the 3rd century, the strap is simply passed through the ring, folded over and fastened with the help of the buttons.

 


Ring buckle cingulum Apulum

Alba Julia in Romania was an important legionary site in Roman times, known as "Apulum". Over 1000 roman and early medieval graves have been discovered and excavated so far. The grave inventories include pottery in the form of crockery and oil lamps, coins, vessels and beads made of glass and many other everyday objects, especially belt parts, jewellery and fibulae.

Military and civil burials can be distinguished on the basis of the typical belt fittings and occasionally also weapons. Cremation burial 19/Trench XXXII included the remains of a soldier with a typical ring buckle cingulum from the 3rd century A.D. The material given is a reddish copper alloy, which indicates bronze. Fragments of ornamental fittings and strap tongues cannot be assigned to the belt without doubt, but probably served as decorations for a separate sword belt (balteus). A coin dates the find ensemble after 175 AD, whereby the ring buckle cingula, as a further development of the frame buckles, probably only became popular in the 3rd century.

According to S. v. Schnurbein, in contrast to earlier military belts, this belt fashion was probably also worn by civilians and is occasionally depicted on stone reliefs of gods, such as Mercury of Châtenois or Silvanus of Aquincum.

Literature:
Daniela CIUGUDEAN, "Ringschnallencingulum”-type belts from Apulum, IN: SCRIPTA CLASSICA, RADU ARDEVAN SEXAGENARIO DEDICATA, CLUJ-NAPOCA, 2011

More Information
Delivery time 1 week
weight 0.150000
size 60 mm
Era Romans
Material Bronze
Kind of replica Belt Buckles and Fittings
scope of delivery With rivets and instructions, ready to assemble.
Write Your Own Review
You're reviewing:Roman Ring Buckle (Ringschnallencingulum) Apulum, Bronze

Ringschnallen-Cingulum Apulum, Bronze

Ringschnalle mit 2 Pilzknöpfen nach einem Fund aus Apulum. Als typischer Gürtel des 3. Jahrhunderts wird der Riemen lediglich durch den Ring geführt und mit Hilfe der Knöpfe verschlossen. 

Artikelnummer
753001
Lieferzeit
2-5 Tage
59,50 €
inkl. MwSt., zzgl. Versandkosten

Ringschnallencingulum Apulum

Ringschnalle mit 2 Pilzknöpfen nach einem Fund aus Apulum. Als typischer Gürtel des 3. Jahrhunderts wird der Riemen lediglich durch den Ring geführt, umgeschlagen und mit Hilfe der Knöpfe verschlossen.

 

Ringschnallencingulum Apulum

Alba Julia in Rumänien war zur Zeit der Römer als "Apulum" ein bedeutender Legionsstandort. Über 1000 Gräber aus römischer und frühmittelalterlicher Zeit wurden bislang entdeckt und ausgegraben. Die Beigaben umfassen Keramik in Form von Geschirr und Öllampen, Münzen, Gefäße und Perlen aus Glas und viele andere Gegenstände des Alltags, insbesondere auch Gürtelteile, Schmuck und Fibeln.

Anhand der typischen Gürtelbeschläge und gelegentlich auch Waffen lassen sich militärische und zivile Gräber unterscheiden. Die Brandbestattung 19/Graben XXXII umfasste dabei die Überreste eines Soldaten mit einem typischen Ringschnallen-Cingulum aus dem 3. Jahrhundert n. Chr. Als Material wird eine rötliche Kupferlegierung angegeben, was auf Bronze hinweist. Fragmente von Zierbeschlägen und Riemenzungen lassen sich nicht zweifelsfrei dem Gürtel zuordnen, sondern dienten wahrscheinlich als Verzierungen eines separaten Schwertgurtes (Balteus). Eine Münze datiert das Fundensemble nach 175 n. Chr, wobei die Ringschnallencingula als Weiterentwicklung der Rahmenschnallen wohl erst im 3. Jahrhundert beliebt wurden.

Nach S. v. Schnurbein wurde diese Gürtelmode im Gegensatz zu früheren Militärgürteln wohl auch von Zivilisten getragen und ist gelegentlich auch auf Steinreliefs von Göttern, wie dem Merkur von Châtenois oder dem Silvanus von Aquincum, abgebildet.

Literatur:
Daniela CIUGUDEAN, "Ringschnallencingulum”-type belts from Apulum, IN: SCRIPTA CLASSICA, RADU ARDEVAN SEXAGENARIO DEDICATA, CLUJ-NAPOCA, 2011

Mehr Informationen
Lieferzeit 2-5 Tage
Gewicht 0.150000
Größe 60 mm
Epoche Römer
Material Bronze
Art der Replik Gürtelschnallen und -beschläge
Lieferumfang Mit Nieten und Anleitung, montagefertig.
Eigene Bewertung schreiben
Sie bewerten:Ringschnallen-Cingulum Apulum, Bronze
Ihre Bewertung