Thor's Hammer Vaalse, White Gold 585

Replica of a small Thorhammer amulet after a find from Vaalse, Denmark. The small Thorhammer is handcrafted from solid 585 white gold and comes with a leather thong and certificate in a case.

Due to the more expensive alloy containing palladium and being a commissioned casting, the price in white gold is higher than an equivalent piece of jewellery in yellow gold. The delivery time is also slightly longer.Due to the more expensive alloy containing palladium and as a commission casting, the price in white gold is higher than an equivalent piece of jewellery in yellow gold. The delivery time is also somewhat longer.

 

SKU
090005
Lieferzeit
4-5 weeks
€339.00
All prices include VAT, plus shipping costs

Small Thorhammer Vaalse, white gold 585

Replica of a small Thorhammer amulet after a find from Vaalse, Denmark. The small Thorhammer is handcrafted from solid white gold and comes with a leather thong and certificate in a case. Size 17 x 30 mm. The eyelet has an inner diameter of about 5 x 3 mm. The weight of the hammer varies between 3.0 and 3.5 grams due to the handwork.

Due to the more expensive alloy containing palladium and being a commissioned casting, the price in white gold is higher than an equivalent piece of jewellery in yellow gold. The delivery time is also somewhat longer.

 

Thorshammer amulets

Amulets were worn to secure protection and assistance from the gods and to participate in their power. The belief in the healing power of amulets stems from magical thinking and is by no means extinct even in high religions.
Miniature hammers, the sign of the god Thor, have been unearthed in many specimens in settlements and graves of the northern Germanic tribes. While the Christians used the cross as their symbol, the pagans wore the Thor hammer as jewellery and amulet.
Most remarkable is a casting mould from the Viking settlement of Haithabyr (Haithabu) near Schleswig that can be used on both sides, allowing a Thor's hammer to be cast from one side and a cross from the other.

The amulet with a horse's head from Iceland is also interpreted as a mixture between a cross and a Thorhammer.
The Edda from the 13th century portrays the god Thor as blustering and hot-tempered, but also good-natured, humorous and easily reconciled. He was a strong and great protector to the warriors; cunning and cunning were not his forte.
The rumbling of his goat-drawn sky chariot produces thunder and his hammer Mjöllnir (the "Malmer") hurls lightning. It is a magical weapon that returns to its master after being thrown and teaches enemies to fear it.

 


Thor's hammers - women's jewellery?

From an archaeological point of view, Thors hammers are actually found almost exclusively in women's graves. Possibly this is connected with a legend from the older Edda (Song Edda), which tells of the theft of the mythical hammer by the giant Thrym. Hidden deep underground, the giant only wanted to return the magical artefact when he had the beautiful goddess Freya as his wife. 
Thor and Loki used a ruse and entered the giant's realm dressed as women. Thrym, who did not recognise this ruse, arranged a great wedding banquet, at which Thor attracted attention by his hunger and thirst. But in the end, the ruler of the giants placed the hammer in his lap as a bridal gift, thus sealing his own death and the downfall of his entire clan.
Possibly with this background, the Thor's hammer amulet became a lucky charm for the wedding night and marriage in general.

Today, however, the Thoshammer has also established itself as men's jewellery and symbolises not only the connection to the world of the Vikings, but also to Germanic mythology and the legendary realms of their gods.

More Information
Delivery time 4-5 weeks
weight 0.003400
size 17 x 30 mm
Era Vikings
Material White Gold 585
Kind of replica Pendants
scope of delivery Delivery in a jewellery case with leather necklace and certificate
variant Gold 585 / 14 ct.
Write Your Own Review
You're reviewing:Thor's Hammer Vaalse, White Gold 585

Thorshammer, Weißgold 585

Nachbildung eines kleinen Thorhammer-Amuletts nach einem Fund aus Vaalse, Dänemark. Der kleine Thorshammer wird in Handarbeit aus massivem Weißgold hergestellt und mit Lederbändchen und Zertifikat im Etui ausgeliefert.

Aufgrund der teureren, palladiumhaltigen Legierung und als Auftragsgussarbeit ist der Preis in Weißgold höher als ein gleichwertiges Schmuckstück in Gelbgold. Auch die Lieferzeit ist etwas länger.Aufgrund der teureren, palladiumhaltigen Legierung und als Auftragsgussarbeit ist der Preis in Weißgold höher als ein gleichwertiges Schmuckstück in Gelbgold. Auch die Lieferzeit ist etwas länger.

Artikelnummer
090005
Lieferzeit
2-3 Wochen
339,00 €
inkl. MwSt., zzgl. Versandkosten

Kleiner Thorshammer Vaalse, Weißgold 585

Nachbildung eines kleinen Thorhammer-Amuletts nach einem Fund aus Vaalse, Dänemark. Der kleine Thorshammer wird in Handarbeit aus massivem Weißgold hergestellt und mit Lederbändchen und Zertifikat im Etui ausgeliefert. Größe 17 x 30 mm. Die Öse hat einen Innendurchmesser von etwa 5 x 3 mm. Das Gewicht des Hammers variiert durch die Handarbeit zwischen 3,0 und 3,5 Gramm.

Aufgrund der teureren, palladiumhaltigen Legierung und als Auftragsgussarbeit ist der Preis in Weißgold höher als ein gleichwertiges Schmuckstück in Gelbgold. Auch die Lieferzeit ist etwas länger.

Eine Zahlung per Bankeinzug oder auf Rechnung ist bei diesem Schmuckstück leider nicht möglich. Aufgrund des hohen Materialwertes erfolgt der Versand nur nach Vorkasse (Banküberweisung oder PayPal).

 

Thorshammer-Amulette

Um sich Schutz und Beistand der Götter zu sichern und an ihrer Macht teilzuhaben, trug man Amulette. Der Glaube an die heilbringende Wirkung von Amuletten entstammt dem magischen Denken und ist selbst in den Hochreligionen keineswegs erloschen.
In Siedlungen und Gräbern der Nordgermanen hat man in vielen Exemplaren Miniaturhämmer, das Zeichen des Gottes Thor, ausgegraben. Während die Christen das Kreuz als ihr Symbol benutzten, trugen die Heiden den Thorshammer als Schmuck und Amulett.
Bemerkenswert ist vor allem eine beidseitig verwendbare Gussform aus der Wikingersiedlung Haithabyr (Haithabu) bei Schleswig, die von der einen Seite den Guss eines Thorhammer und von der anderen den eines Kreuzes ermöglicht.

Auch wird das Amulett mit Pferdekopf aus Island als Mischung zwischen Kreuz und Thorhammer gedeutet.
Die Edda aus dem 13. Jahrhundert schildert den Gott Thor als polternd und hitzig, aber auch gutmütig, humorvoll und leicht zu versöhnen. Er war den Kriegern ein starker und großartiger Beschützer, Schläue und List waren nicht seine Stärke.
Das Poltern seines von Ziegen gezogenen Himmelswagens erzeugt den Donner und sein Hammer Mjöllnir (der „Malmer“) schleudert Blitze. Es ist eine magische Waffe, die nach dem Wurf zu ihrem Herrn zurückkehrt und den Feinden das Fürchten lehrt.

 

Thorshämmer - Frauenschmuck?

Aus archäologischer Sicht finden sich Thorshämmer tatsächlich fast ausschließlich in Frauengräbern. Möglicherweise hängt das mit einer Sage aus der älteren Edda (Lieder-Edda) zusammen, die von dem Diebstahl des mythischen Hammers durch den Riesen Thrym erzählt. Versteckt tief unter der Erde wollte der Riese das magische Artefakt erst dann zurückgeben, wenn er die schöne Göttin Freya zur Frau bekäme. 
Thor und Loki bedienten sich einer List und begaben sich in Frauenkleidung ins Reich der Riesen. Thrym, der diese List nicht erkannte, richtete ein großes Hochzeitsbankett aus, bei dem Thor durch seinen Hunger und Durst Aufmerksamkeit erregte. Doch schließlich legte ider Herrscher der Riesen ihm den Hammer als Brautgeschenk in den Schoß und besiegelte damit seinen eigenen Tod und den Untergang seiner ganzen Sippe.
Möglicherweise wurde mit diesem Hintergrund das Thorshammeramulett zu einem Glücksbringer für die Hochzeitsnacht und die Ehe im Allgemeinen.

Heute hat sich der Thoshammer aber auch als Männerschmuck etabliert und symbolisiert nicht nur die Verbundenheit zur Welt der Wikinger, sondern auch zur germanischen Mythologie und den sagenhaften Reichen ihrer Götter.

Mehr Informationen
Lieferzeit 2-3 Wochen
Gewicht 0.003400
Größe 17 x 30 mm
Epoche Wikinger
Material Weißgold 585
Art der Replik Anhänger
Lieferumfang Lieferung im Schmucketui mit Lederbändchen und Zertifikat
Ausführung Gold 585 / 14 kt.
Eigene Bewertung schreiben
Sie bewerten:Thorshammer, Weißgold 585
Ihre Bewertung