Cicada Brooch, Silver

Fibula in shape of a cicada. This insects were very popular as jewellery from the late roman period until the early middle ages. This one dates to the germanic migration period of the 5th century.

SKU
254002
Lieferzeit
3-4 weeks
€99.00
All prices include VAT, plus shipping costs

Cicada Brooch

Reconstruction of a massive original of the 5th century, now part of a private collection in Germany. Handcrafted from solid 925 silver, fully operatice with authentic pin from alpaca silver. Length 60mm.

 

Cicada Fibula, Silver

Cicadas were spreading during the Roman Empire from the Black Sea to Pannonia and Britain. Especially the Germanic tribes of the Goths and Alans seem to have made a special contribution to the spread of the cicadas, during Late Roman times and the Migration Period. There are cicada brooches found in both Germanic and Roman places. They remained a very popular kind of fibula brooches until the 6th century, single pieces date back even to the 7th century. After the discovery of the Childerich grave dating to the late 5th century with numerous cicada applications, the Childerich "bees" became even a symbol of Napoleon Bonaparte's coat of arms.
Because of their singing, the cicadas were associated with the god of music, Apollo. The subterranean transformation (metamorphosis) into a flying insect also made the cicada a symbol of youth and rebirth. So it is not surprising that the fibulae in the form of cicadas were particularly used in the clothing of children and young women. They were either worn in pairs for the closing of a tunic or as single brooches  on the neckline or on a cloak.

 

 

More Information
Delivery time 3-4 weeks
weight 0.023000
size 60 mm
Era Late Antiquity
Material Silver 925
Kind of replica Fibulae and Brooches
scope of delivery Delivery in a jewellery case with certificate
Write Your Own Review
You're reviewing:Cicada Brooch, Silver

Zikadenfibel, Silber

Fibel im Form einer stilisierten Zikade, ein Motiv, das von der Spätantike bis ins frühe Mittelalter beliebt war.

Artikelnummer
254002
Lieferzeit
2-3 Wochen
89,00 €
inkl. MwSt., zzgl. Versandkosten

Zikadenfibel

Rekonstruktion eines massiven Originals des 5. Jahrhunderts aus einer Privatsammlung. Handarbeit aus massivem 925er Silber mit Nadel aus hartem Neusilber, voll funktionsfähig mit authentischer Nadelkonstruktion. Länge ca. 60 mm.

Zikadenfibeln

Zikadenfibeln verbreiteten sich während der römischen Kaiserzeit vom Schwarzmeerraum über Pannonien bis nach Britannien. Besonders die germanischen Stämme der Goten und Alanen scheinen während der Spätantike und der Völkerwanderungszeit einen besonderen Beitrag zur Verbreitung der Zikadenfibeln geleistet zu haben. Dabei finden sich Zikadenfibeln sowohl in germanischen als auch in römischen Fundzusammenhängen. Sie blieben bis in 6. Jahrhundert eine sehr beliebte Fibelform, Einzelstücke datieren noch bis in das 7. Jahrhundert. Nach der Entdeckung des Childerich-Grabes aus dem späten 5. Jahrhundert mit zahlreichen Beschlägen in Form von Zikaden wurden die Childerich-„Bienen“ schließlich sogar ein Wappensymbol Napoleon Bonapartes.
Aufgrund ihres Gesangs wurden die Zikaden mit dem Gott der Musik, Apollo, assoziiert. Die unterirdische Verwandlung (Metamorphose) zu einem fliegenden Insekt machte die Zikade darüber hinaus auch zu einem Symbol für Jugend und Wiedergeburt. So verwundert es nicht, das Fibeln in Form von Zikaden besonders an der Kleidung von Kindern und jungen Frauen Verwendung fanden. Dabei wurden sie entweder paarweise zum Verschließen einer Tunika oder als Einzelfibel am Halsausschnitt oder an einem mantelertigen Umhang getragen.

 

 

Mehr Informationen
Lieferzeit 2-3 Wochen
Gewicht 0.023000
Größe 60 mm
Epoche Spätantike
Material Silber 925
Art der Replik Fibeln und Broschen
Lieferumfang Lieferung im Schmucketui mit Zertifikat
Eigene Bewertung schreiben
Sie bewerten:Zikadenfibel, Silber
Ihre Bewertung