Fish Head Pendant Gotland, Bronze

The pieces of jewellery, somewhat awkwardly called "fish-head pendants" after their shape, are made after precursors from the Vendel period on the island of Gotland. As ensembles, they form a necklace in the shape of a collar, which was often additionally decorated with glass beads.

SKU
761001
Lieferzeit
5-6 weeks
As low as €25.00
All prices include VAT, plus shipping costs

Fish Head Pendant Gotland

The pieces of jewellery, somewhat awkwardly called "fish-head pendants" after their shape, are made after precursors from the Vendel period on the island of Gotland.

The fish head pendants are available individually or in sets of 5. This way you can create your own individual jewellery or add to it later. The pieces are handmade by me from a special gold-coloured brass alloy. This makes the fish head pendants optically very similar to the often gold-plated original pieces.
On request and as a special order, even more authentic versions with gold plating, silver plating and black inlays are possible.

 


Fish-Head Pendants - Women's Jewellery of the Viking Age

This type of pendant was often worn in several pieces next to each other, creating a kind of collar. Together with glass beads and chain distributors, the fish-head pendants were typical neck jewellery for the women of the Viking Age on Gotland. Only in very rare cases (e.g. in a skeleton grave in the Kopparsvik cemetery) the fish-head pendants apparently were worn as individual pieces.

These replicas of fish-head pendants belong to "type 2", the pendants made in hollow casting. While type 1 is made of sheet metal and usually has a length of between 3 and 4 cm, the fish-head pendatns of type 2 are not only much more elaborately decorated, but also somewhat larger with an average length of just under 5 cm. This type of pendant is known exclusively from 5 to 6 hoards and around 140 individual finds and has not yet been proven in any closed grave finds.
Between 15 and 30 pieces are found together in the depots. It is unclear whether these larger collections represent a single set or possibly comprise two sets. Almost half of all type 2 finds thus come from depot finds. 

Among the single finds, about 50 pieces were reworked into dress fibulae, mostly with 3 pendants joined together and subsequently provided with a needle construction (so-called secondary fibulae).

The dating of the type 2 fish-head pendants is quite difficult due to their predominant occurrence in heterogeneous depot finds. However, it is probable that they were used within the stages VIII:2 to VIII:3, roughly the period between 900 and 1100 AD.

Link to the original: Datenbank Historiska.se

More Information
Delivery time 5-6 weeks
weight 0.020000
size 48 mm
Era Vikings
Material Brass
Kind of replica Pendants
scope of delivery With rivets and instructions, ready to assemble.
Write Your Own Review
You're reviewing:Fish Head Pendant Gotland, Bronze

Fischkopfhülse Typ2, Messingbronze

Die nach ihrer Form etwas unbeholfen als "Fischkopfhülsen" bezeichneten Schmuckstücke entstehen nach Vorläufern aus der Vendelzeit auf der Insel Gotland. Sie bilden als Ensembles einen Halsschmuck in Form eines Kragens, der oftmals zusästzlich mit Glasperlen verziert war.

Artikelnummer
761001
Lieferzeit
4-5 Wochen
ab 25,00 €
inkl. MwSt., zzgl. Versandkosten

Fischkopfhülse

Die nach ihrer Form etwas unbeholfen als "Fischkopfhülsen" bezeichneten Schmuckstücke entstehen nach Vorläufern aus der Vendelzeit auf der Insel Gotland.

Die Fischkopfhülsen sind einzeln oder in 5er-Sets erhältlich. So kannst du deinen eigenen Schmuck individuell zusammenstellen oder auch nachträglich noch erweitern. Die Stücke werden von mir in Handarbeit aus einer besonderen, goldfarbenen Messinglegierung angefertigt. Damit kommen die Fischkopfhülsen den oft vergoldeten Originalstücken optisch recht nah.
Auf Wunsch und als Sonderanfertigung sind auch noch authentischere Varianten mit Vergoldung, Silberplattierung und schwarzen Einlagen möglich.

 

Fischkopfhülsen als Frauenschmuck der Wikingerzeit

Diese Art des Anhängers wurde oft in mehreren Stücken nebeneinander getragen, so dass eine Art Kragen entstand. Zusammen mit Glasperlen und Kettenverteilern waren die Fischkopfhülsen ein typischer Halsschmuck für die Frauen der Wikingerzeit auf Gotland. Nur in sehr seltenen Fällen (z.B. in einem Skelettgrab im Gräberfeld Kopparsvik) wurden die  Fischkopfhülsen scheinbar als Einzelstücke getragen.

Diese Nachbildungen von Fischkopfhülsen zählen zum "Typ 2", den im Hohlguss angefertigten Anhängern. Während der Typ 1 aus Blech gefertigt ist und meist eine Länge zwischen 3 und 4  cm aufweist, sind die Fischkopfhülsen vom Typ 2 nicht nur wesentlich aufwendiger verziert, sondern mit einer durchschnittlichen Länge von knapp 5 cm auch etwas größer. Diese Art von Anhänger ist ausschließlich aus 5 bis 6 Hort- und rund 140 Einzelfunden bekannt und konnte bislang noch in keinem geschlossenen Grabfund nachgewiesen werden.
In den Depots sind jeweils zwischen 15 und 30 Stücke zusammen anzutreffen. Unklar ist dabei, ob diese größeren Kollektionen dabei einen einzelnen Satz darstellen, oder möglicherweise zwei Garnituren umfassen. Fast die Hälfte aller Fundstücke vom Typ 2 stammt damit aus Depotfunden. 

Bei den Einzelfunden wurden rund 50 Stück zu Trachtfibeln umgearbeitet, wobei meist 3 Hülsen miteinander verbunden und nachträglich mit einer Nadelkonstruktion versehen worden waren (sog. Sekundärfibeln).

Die Datierung der Fischkopfhülsen vom Typ 2 ist durch das überwiegende Auftreten in heterogenen Depotfunden recht schwierig. Wahrscheinlich ist jedoch die Verwendung innerhalb der Stufen VIII:2 bis VIII:3, grob gesagt die Zeit zwischen 900 und 1100 n. Chr.

Link zum Original: Datenbank Historiska.se

Mehr Informationen
Lieferzeit 4-5 Wochen
Gewicht 0.020000
Größe 48 mm
Epoche Wikinger
Material Messingbronze
Art der Replik Anhänger
Lieferumfang Mit Nieten und Anleitung, montagefertig.
Eigene Bewertung schreiben
Sie bewerten:Fischkopfhülse Typ2, Messingbronze
Ihre Bewertung