Roman Wedding Ring, Bronze

Replica of an antique wedding ring with clasped hands, after archaeological finds of the Roman Empire. The motif of the united hands (Dextrarum Iunctio) is sculpted here as a decorative plate.
 

SKU
665001
Lieferzeit
4-5 weeks
As low as €45.00
All prices include VAT, plus shipping costs

Roman Wedding Ring "Dextrarum Iunctio"

Replica of an antique wedding ring with clasped hands, after archaeological finds of the Roman Empire. The motif of the united hands (Dextrarum Iunctio) is sculpted here as a decorative plate. The image is nicely highlighted by a slight patination. Made of solid, genuine Bronze. The ring will be delivered in a jewelery case with certificate. Please choose your desired size!

 

Roman Wedding Ring "Dextrarum Iunctio"

Numerous rings of the Roman Empire show the motif of two clasped hands, the so-called "Dextrarum Iunctio". The handshake was in ancient Rome a binding sign of a marriage. An elderly woman, the Pronuba ("for the Bride"), put the couple's hands together at the ceremony. The bride quoted the formula "ubi tu gaius ego gaia," roughly "where you are Gaius, I am Gaia." With offerings finally the assistance of the gods was requested.

However, the motif is not only limited to a marriage vow, but rather symbolizes harmony and loyalty. Rings with the symbol of interlocking hands are also found in large numbers as so-called Fehde-Rings in the Middle Ages and in modern times. The term Fehde refers to the Latin Fides, the fidelity. Another term used in this context is the handtruwe, the hand-loyalty between fiancé, spouses and relatives.

More Information
Delivery time 4-5 weeks
weight 0.006000
Era Romans
Material Bronze
Kind of replica Rings
scope of delivery Delivery in a jewellery case with certificate
Write Your Own Review
You're reviewing:Roman Wedding Ring, Bronze

Römischer Ehering, Händering, Bronze

Nachbildung eines antiken Eherings mit ineinander greifenden Händen (Dextrarum Iunctio), nach Motiven der römischen Kaiserzeit.
 

Artikelnummer
665001
Lieferzeit
2-3 Wochen
ab 45,00 €
inkl. MwSt., zzgl. Versandkosten

Römischer Händering "Dextrarum Iunctio"

Nachbildung eines antiken Eherings mit ineinander greifenden Händen, nach Motiven der römischen Kaiserzeit. Das Motiv der vereinigten Hände (Dextrarum Iunctio) ist hier als Zierplatte plastisch ausgearbeitet. Die Darstellung wird durch eine leichte Patinierung der Vertiefungen schön hervorgehoben. Hergestellt aus echter, massiver Bronze. 
Die Lieferung erfolgt in einem Schmucketui mit Zertifikat.

 

Römischer Händering "Dextrarum Iunctio"

Zahlreiche Ringe der römischen Kaiserzeit zeigen das Motiv von zwei ineinander greifenden Händen, die sogenannten "Dextrarum Iunctio". Der Handschlag galt im alten Rom als verbindliches Zeichen einer Eheschließung. Eine ältere Frau, die Pronuba ("für die Braut"), legte bei der Zeremonie die Hände des Ehepaares zusammen. Die Braut zitierte die Formel "ubi tu gaius ego gaia", in etwa "wo du Gaius bist, bin ich Gaia". Mit Opfergaben wurde schließlich der Beistand der Götter erbeten.

Das Motiv beschränkt sich jedoch nicht nur auf ein Ehegelöbnis, sondern symbolisierte genrell Eintracht und Treue. Ringe mit dem Symbol der ineinander greifenden Hände finden sich in großer Zahl auch als sogenante Fehde-Ringe im Mittelalter und in der Neuzeit. Der Begriff Fehde bezieht sich auf das lateinische Fides, die Treue. Eine anderer, in diesem Zusammenhang verwendeter Begriff ist die Handtruwe, die Handtreue zwischen Verlobten, Eheleuten und Angehörigen.

Mehr Informationen
Lieferzeit 2-3 Wochen
Gewicht 0.006000
Epoche Römer
Material Bronze
Art der Replik Ringe
Lieferumfang Lieferung im Schmucketui mit Zertifikat
Eigene Bewertung schreiben
Sie bewerten:Römischer Ehering, Händering, Bronze
Ihre Bewertung