Quatrefoil Brooch Galloway, Bronze

Anglo-Saxon fibula (brooch) from the Viking Age based on a find from the Galloway hoard, handmade in Bronze

SKU
734002-1
Lieferzeit
4-5 weeks
€99.00
All prices include VAT, plus shipping costs

Quatrefoil Brooch Galloway

Anglo-Saxon fibula (brooch) from the Viking Age based on a find from the Galloway hoard. Handmade from solid bronze! The brooch is extremely elaborately composed of 9 individual parts. The original belongs to a rare type of quatrefoil brooch. The finds from the Galloway hoard are without parallels so far. The figures show the humor of their time: Two hornblowers are playing their instruments while the listeners' ears ring. The size of the fibula is around 55 x 55 mm.

The extraordinary brooch is made especially for you and delivered with a certificate in a gift box.

 

The Galloway Treasure Find

While searching for archaeological artifacts with a metal detector, Derek McLennan came across a silver bracelet in a field in southwest Scotland. He immediately informed the authorities, whereby the entire complex was dug up and documented properly.
In a gilded silver vessel, probably an import from the Carolingian Empire, numerous brooches and other pieces of jewelry were hidden. Most precious pieces had been carefully wrapped in leather and silk fabric. Silver and gold bars, bracelets, pearls and other pieces of jewelry complete this extraordinary hoard. The total of more than 100 objects date to the early 10th century. In addition to the many different artifacts, the variety of origins of the pieces is also unique. Possibly these were Anglo-Saxon possessions of a monastery or a village community that was looted and hidden by Vikings on a raid. The Galloway hoard is considered one of the most important Viking Age treasures.

In 2017 the Galloway Hoard was acquired by the Scottish National Museum after a fundraising campaign. Together with government grants, almost £ 2 million changed hands.

More information:

https://www.nms.ac.uk/explore-our-collections/stories/scottish-history-and-archaeology/galloway-hoard/

More Information
Delivery time 4-5 weeks
weight 0.070000
size 55 x 55 mm
Era Vikings
Material Bronze
Kind of replica Fibulae and Brooches
scope of delivery Delivery in a jewellery case with certificate
Write Your Own Review
You're reviewing:Quatrefoil Brooch Galloway, Bronze

Vierpassfibel Galloway, Bronze

Vierpassfibel nach einem Fundstück aus dem Hortfund von Galloway aus echter Bronze.

Artikelnummer
734002-1
Lieferzeit
vor Weihnachten
99,00 €
inkl. MwSt., zzgl. Versandkosten

Fibel (Brosche) Galloway

Angelsächsische Fibel der Wikingerzeit nach einem Fundstück aus dem Schatzfund von Galloway. Die Fibel besteht aus echter Bronze, wobei die Motive mit schwarzer Patina hervorgehoben werden. Auch die Grundplatte und die Nadelkonstruktion sind aus Bronze gefertigt. Die Fibel ist extrem aufwendig aus 9 Einzelteilen zusammengesetzt. Das Original gehört zu einer seltenen Form der Vierpassfibel, deren zwei Fundstücke aus dem Galloway Hort bislang ohne Parallen sind. Die abgebildeten Figuren zeigen den Humor ihrer Zeit: Zwei Hornbläser stoßen in ihre Instrumente, während den Zuhörern die Ohren klingeln. Die Größe der Fibel liegt bei etwa 55 x 55 mm, das Gewicht bei etwa 70 Gramm.

Die außergewöhliche Fibel wird speziell für Sie angefertigt und mit Zertifikat in einer Geschenkbox geliefert.

 

Der Galloway Schatzfund

Auf der Suche nach archäologischen Artefakten stieß der Sondengänger Derek McLennan auf einem Feld im Südwesten Schottlands auf einen silbernen Armreif. Er informierte umgehend die Behörden, wodurch der gesamte Fundkomplex ordnungsgemäß ausgegraben und dokumentiert wurde.
In einem vergoldeten Gefäß aus Silber, wohl ein Import aus dem karolingischen Frankenreich, fanden sich zahlreiche Broschen und andere Schmuckstücke, die sorgfältig in Leder und kostbaren Seidenstoff gewickelt deponiert worden waren. Silber- und Goldbarren, Armreifen, Perlen und andere Schmuckstücke vervollständigen diesen außergewöhnlichen Hortfund. Die insgesamt über 100 Fundstücke datieren in das frühe 10. Jahrhundert. Einzigartig ist neben den vielen unterschiedlichen Artefakten auch die Vielfalt der Herkunft der Stücke. Möglicherweise handelt es sich dabei um einheimische angelsächsische Besitztümer eines Klosters oder einer Dorfgemeinschaft, die auf einem Plünderungszug von Wikingern erbeutet und versteckt worden waren. Der Galloway Hort wird als einer der bedeutensten wikingerzeitlichen Schatzfunde angesehen.

Im Jahre 2017 konnte der Galloway Hoard vom Schottischen Nationalmuseum nach einer Fundraising Kampagne erworben werden. Zusammen mit staatlichen Zuschüssen wechselten dabei knapp 2 Millionen Pfund den Besitzer.

Mehr Informationen:

https://www.nms.ac.uk/explore-our-collections/stories/scottish-history-and-archaeology/galloway-hoard/

Mehr Informationen
Lieferzeit vor Weihnachten
Gewicht 0.070000
Größe 55 x 55 mm
Epoche Wikinger
Material Bronze
Art der Replik Fibeln und Broschen
Lieferumfang Lieferung im Schmucketui mit Zertifikat
Eigene Bewertung schreiben
Sie bewerten:Vierpassfibel Galloway, Bronze
Ihre Bewertung